United Nations Security Council

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is considered as the most powerful of the six central bodies in United Nations. The body's principal responsibilities include maintaining international peace and security, approving new members to the UN, and making any changes to the UN Charter.

Of the fifteen Security Council members, Russia, United Kingdom, France, China, and the United States - serve as the body's five permanent members with the authority to exercise veto power on any substantive Security Council resolution, including those on the confirmation of new member states or contender for Secretary-General. The Security Council additionally has 10 non-permanent members, elected on a regional basis to serve two-year terms. The body's administration turns month to month among its members.